Motor Sport Release


10 Dec 2015

Maserati Trofeo World Series - Abu Dhabi (UAE) - Race 1

Monti wins the 2015 Maserati Trofeo World Series 

Romain Monti has claimed the 2015 Maserati Trofeo World Series. The Frenchman held a comfortable lead going into the race and got the better of second-placed Riccardo Ragazzi. He did so in the best way possible: taking Race 1 in this final round at Yas Marina, the circuit in Abu Dhabi (United Arab Emirates). 

Monti was focused and fast throughout and earned his success after first taking pole position. Behind him in the overall standings came Ragazzi. The Italian put on a fine display and even tried to take top spot but was out of luck. He only threw in the towel towards the end and tiredness could be a factor as he is also appearing in the Abu Dhabi 12 Hour. The two contenders slugged it out and had a lead of over 25 seconds on the rest of the field, one made up of 22 Maserati GranTurismo MC Trofeos. Third across the line was Giuseppe Fascicolo who took the spot after overtaking first debutant Matteo Gonfiantini (fourth) and then Diego Romanini. Romanini's brake problems put paid to a certain podium finish and he was forced to retire.
In fifth came Lino Curti, ahead of Andreas Segler, Alexander West and Emanuele Smurra, paired at Abu Dhabi with Giorgio Sernagiotto for team Red Dragon. Ninth came Adrian De Leener and tenth Alessandro Iazzetti.

Race 2 will be held tomorrow, Friday 11 December, at 13:25 (Italian time), marking an end to the Maserati Trofeo season and to this championship.
"It is a fantastic ending", commented Romain Monti. "I was quick in each session of free practice and qualifying and I also set the best lap time. Now it is time to celebrate the championship victory. It is the first title of my career and it comes with a marque like Maserati: I couldn't ask for more".
Race 1 result:
1 Romain Monti – 42:03.713
2 Riccardo Ragazzi – 42:09.923
3 Giuseppe Fascicolo – 42:38.275


Maserati Trofeo World Series - Abu Dhabi (UAE) - Race 1
Maserati Trofeo...
130 KB PDF


: 4
: 0
Back to top