Motor Sport Release


16 Dec 2015

Maserati Trofeo 2010 - 2015

From Monza 2010 to Abu Dhabi 2015. The Maserati Trofeo journey lasted six years and ended only last week at the Yas Marina circuit in the United Arab Emirates with Frenchman Romain Monti taking the last ever title. The single-make series kicked off with an Italian taking the championship, Pietro Zumerle in 2010. He was followed by another Italian, David Baldi (2011), before a Belgian claimed two successive crowns Renaud Kuppens (2012 and 2013). In 2014 it was the turn of Swiss driver Mauro Calamia.

As well as scoring a historic double title, Kuppens holds a few other firsts in this Maserati series. The Belgian claimed the most victories (15) in the Trofeo and tops the special classification for the most wins on the same circuit (4 at Sonoma in the United States), the number of podiums (23) and pole positions (17). Calamia was the driver who claimed the most consecutive wins(4), the number of wins in a season (9) and is the youngest driver to have won the Trofeo (at 22 years old).

Another talented young driver was the Dane Mikkel Mac. As well as taking second spot behind Kuppens in 2013, he will be remembered for winning a race at the age of 20 (at Paul Ricard). Maserati's single-make series, as well as being a launchpad for young talent, is also appreciated by more experienced drivers. This is partly because of the special classification reserved to Over 50s, won this year by Australian Richard Denny. Among the more seasoned drivers, Riccardo Romagnoli was one that stood out as he was the oldest driver to win a race (at 48 when he triumphed at Jarama in 2012).

Andreas Segler holds the record for having disputed the greatest number of Trofeo races since 2010, a total of 45. The German has not missed a single round and has lined up on every grid over the past six years. He has collected a few podium finishes along the way and used 816 tyres, covering over 19.000 km in racing on 25 circuits in 14 countries.

The Maserati Trofeo has touched down at most important European tracks and circuits further afield. In the USA, it has been run in California at Sonoma, Road America in Wisconsin, and in Virginia at the VIR’ circuit where, in 1957, Carol Shelby's Maserati 450S was victorious in the inaugural race. The list of Formula 1 circuits visited includes Shanghai in China, Abu Dhabi in the United Arab Emirates and Suzuka in Japan, a track where Maserati had never race before.

The impressive figures prove that the championship was a popular one. It has always had a high number of competitors with an average that topped 21 Maserati GranTurismo MC Trofeos at each round. There have been almost 200 drivers (from 31 countries) who have taken part in the championship. Eight women drivers have raced over the past six years, including a mini-series at Budapest, Hungary, in 2013 where four Lady Racers appeared: Adrienn Dansco teamed with Edina Bus and Adrienn Vogel pairing up with Anita Toth.

The fascination of the Maserati marque has drawn drivers from around the globe to race, as well as celebrities and motor-racing personalities. Among the drivers who have got behind the wheel of the Maserati GranTurismo MC Trofeo, are ex-Formula 1 men Ivan Capelli and Japanese Shinji Nakano, Maserati MC12 stars Andrea Bertolini and Michael Bartels, and the sons of greats from the past like Derek Hill and Freddie Hunt. Also from the world of motorsport came engineer Adrian Newey, film star Patrick Dempsey, and stuntman Greg Tracy.

The GranTurismo MCs will be back on the track in 2016, run by private squads. They will mainly be competing in international GT4 series in Europe and in the USA. The teams have taken delivery of the cars and will make the modifications needed to bring them into line with GT4 regulations. Maserati will provide the teams with technical support and replacement parts, transferring all the experience and know-how picked up in the past six Maserati Trofeo seasons.


Maserati Trofeo 2010 - 2015
Maserati Trofeo...
196 KB PDF


: 10
: 0
Back to top